Initiation Into Spiritual Life: Solid Foundations I

Syllabus of The 8 Days Online Course


First Part: Introduction and Lectio Divina

I – Day One

– Introduction and description of Spiritual life, its goal and its stages.

– Our Lady and her place in our Spiritual life.

II – Day Two

– The Roots of our Prayer: Dogma and Spiritual Life.

– Lectio Divina I : how to listen to God each day through the daily readings of the Bible.

III – Day Three

– Lectio Divina II : Continuation of the presentation. Discernement and difficulties.

– Guided Lectio Divina.

– Reading the Bible “in the Spirit”. How the Fathers of the Church read the Bible.


Second Part: General Laws of Spiritual Life

IV – Day Four

–  The Theological Acts: Faith, Hope and Love.

– The Ups and downs. The mechanism of Temptation. Learning to adjust to the Grace of God.

V – Day Five

Christ in Spiritual Life.

– The Holy Spirit in Spiritual Life.



Third Part: Prayer of the Heart

VI – Day Six

 God’s Love.

– To Love God with All our Heart: our emotions

– The Prayer of the Heart : History

– The Summary of the Method.

– Distractions / recollecting the mind.

VII – Day Seven

The Prayer of the Heart I: Way of Perfection CC. 26. 28-29.

– Recollecting the mind.

– The recollection movement. “Prayer of Recollection.”

VIII – Day Eight

The Prayer of the Heart II: Way of Perfection CC. 30-31

– God’s Action in the Prayer of the Heart. “Prayer of Quiet.”

– General advices.

– Conclusion.


Leaflet Presentation of the Online Course

Watch some lectures from a previous course on youtube

Handouts and Articles for the different Lessons here

If you wish to follow this Course online with Videos, please do contact us here.